This Isn’t Goodbye

This Isn’t Goodbye 
By: Jenessa Grau

I can’t begin to imagine how it must feel
To walk in your shoes, the pain is surreal
My heart breaks to think of losing a sibling
Let alone a twin, with you from the beginning
Always together, never apart
Identical bodies, love of one heart
I miss Pam so much, your fellow commiserator
Remember, this isn’t ‘goodbye,’ it’s only ‘see you later.’

Think of the splendors that heaven will bring
The love, grace and beauty, meeting your King
After what you have been through, I have to admit
My own faith was shady, difficult to commit
To the belief a God could put you through all of this
Your world, your life, everything so amiss
But then I read a book; ‘Imagine Heaven’ it was called
The stories were amazing, I quickly became enthralled
My eyes were opened to a world infinitely greater
This isn’t ‘goodbye,’ it’s only ‘see you later.’

When you’re feeling depressed, hold onto this thought
Unimaginable beauty, the love you’ve always sought
A welcome party full of all those you have deeply cherished
Alive in heaven forever even if in this life they’ve perished
My heart breaks for Kevin and everything you’re going through
I pray to ease his suffering and pain, I pray also for you
The only guarantee in life is to someday meet your creator
It will never be ‘goodbye,’ it’s only ‘see you later.’

Again tonight, as before, I will silently pray
To help with your sorrows, take the pain away
Help you see the joy each new day can bring
Make your soul happy, give you a reason to sing
Never forget your entire family is here for you
Lean on us like a crutch, we’ll see you through
But in the end let each rainbow be a happy indicator
Today is not ‘goodbye,’ it’s only a ‘see you later.’

Leave a comment